Ottawa Film Office Announces 2021-2022 Board of Directors

Ottawa – The Ottawa Film Office (OFO), the local not-for-profit organization dedicated to growing Ottawa’s film and television industry, is delighted to announce today the re-election of its Board of Directors and the appointment of CKCU Executive Director Kwende Kefentse for a two-year term. In addition, as the newly elected co-chair of the Film & Television Advisory Committee, Atomic Cartoons’ Chris Wightman joins the Board as the animation industry representative, replacing outgoing Secretary Nicole St. Pierre. The new members were formally elected during the OFO’s AGM held on June 25, 2021.

“We’re grateful for the dedication and enthusiasm Nicole demonstrated over the past few years as a valuable member of the Board of Directors,” says Chair Catherine Callary. “We wish Nicole all the best as she focuses her time and energy on her work with Mercury Filmworks and her new live-action production company Sungate Films. We are certain that alongside Nicole’s work in screen-based media, she will continue contributing to the sector’s success os a member of the OFO’s Film and Television Advisory Committee.”

Ottawa Film Commissioner welcomed the appointments of Mr. Kefentse and Mr. Wightman, adding: “Having known both Kwende and Chris for several years, I’m confident their diverse backgrounds, skills, and experiences will be an immense asset to the Board. I look forward to continue working with all Board members to capitalize on the industry’s explosive growth and to ensure its prosperous and sustainable future.”

As leaders in the creative industries, Mr. Kefentse and Mr. Wightman will provide valuable insight that will help stimulate the local creative economy. “Film brings the creative and cultural industries together, which represents a critical opportunity for Ottawa to build back better,” says Mr. Kefentse. “CKCU has a long legacy of being deeply connected to local creative life, and I’m excited to be joining this group of change makers to help drive the next generation of local opportunities for creatives to thrive right here in the region.”

“I look forward to working with Kwende and the board and representing Ottawa’s thriving world-class animation industry and community. The Ottawa film and television industry is flourishing and the next few years are going to be extremely exciting as we take it to the next level. I am thrilled to be working with this team and helping to take it there,” adds Mr. Wightman.

The film office’s Board members serve in a voluntary capacity, providing oversight to all corporate activities.

Ottawa Film Office Board of Directors 2021-2022:

  • Catherine Callary (Chair)
  • Robyn Heaton (Vice-Chair)
  • Councillor Jean Cloutier (Treasurer), ex officio
  • Daniel Feeny (Secretary)
  • Bernie Ashe
  • Erin Benjamin
  • Kevin Bourne
  • Don Herweyer (ex officio, non-voting)
  • Kwende Kefentse
  • Tom McSorley
  • Christina Ruddy
  • Lise Sarazin
  • Ken Stewart (ex officio)
  • Frédéric Thibault-Chabot
  • Chris Wightman (ex officio)